JUROR: Sandra Phillips, Curator Emeritus, SF MOMA (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art)
We are honored that Sandra Phillips has agreed to jury this year’s exhibition; she enters the new status as Curator Emeritus at SF MoMA after 29 years there as first curator then senior curator of photography. During her time at the museum, the Department of Photography has presented more than 200 exhibitions and accessioned more than 11,000 works.

Submission Deadline EXTENDED! February 5, 2017
Fee: $50 for 5 images, $5 for each additional image up to 5 (10 total)

Selection Announced: February 17, 2017
Selected works received in-house: March 16, 2017
Exhibit: March 27–June 11, 2017


Registration is now open on the CAFE website (click here). You can prep your materials in advance by following these specs below.

  • File format: JPEG only
  • File dimensions: No smaller than 1920 pixels on the longest side
  • File resolution: 72 ppi/dpi (standard web resolution)
  • File size: 5 MB maximum

DEADLINE extended! february 05, 2017

All entries must be submitted via by 10:59 pm (PST) on February 5, 2017. Contact or 206-720-7222 ext. 10 with questions.


The entry fee is $50 for 5 jpgs (minimum) and we encourage an artist’s statement. You may add additional jpgs for $5 each, up to 10 total. Payment must be in U.S. Dollars. Entry fees are non-refundable.


A list of accepted artists will be posted on this page on February 17, 2017. Selected artists will be notified by email and telephone. The framed work will need to arrive by March 16. Artists will be responsible for shipping their framed work to and from the gallery.


Work selected by the judge for the juried show will be exhibited at PCNW. All sales of work in the juried show will be conducted by PCNW and PCNW will retain a 50% commission on all work sold. The artist can determine if they wish to sell their work.


To be announced


You will retain all rights to any photograph you submit, including ownership if applicable. If your image is selected for the juried competition exhibition, you grant Photo Center NW a nonexclusive right, in perpetuity, to: Use, in connection with the current Annual Photo Competition Exhibition, your name, city, state and country of residence in PCNW promotions and publications. Use, in connection with the current Annual Photo Competition Exhibition, your image on partner and third party promotions and publications. Keep the files provided, and to archive the images in electronic forms, so that your photos can be used in connection with the current Annual Photo Competition Exhibition. As conditions of this permission, PCNW shall credit all photographs with the caption “C Person’s Name.”


1995 – Duane Michals, Artist
1996 – Joyce Tenneson, Artist
1997 – Jock Sturges, Artist and Trevor Fairbrother, Curator, Seattle Art Museum
1998 – Keith Carter, Artist
1999 – Linda Connor, Artist, Educator
2001 – Chien-Chi Chang, Photographer, Magnum Photos
2002 – Michael Kenna, Artist
2003 – Anne Wilkes Tucker, Curator, Museum of Fine Art Houston
2004 – Roy Flukinger, Curator, Harry Ransom Center
2005 – Mary Virginia Swanson, Consultant, Educator, MVS
2006 – Paul Kopeikin, Paul Kopeikin Gallery
2007 – Charlotte Cotton, Curator, Los Angeles County Museum of Art
2008 – Rod Slemmons, Director, Museum of Contemporary Photography
2009 – Jen Bekman, Jen Bekman Gallery, 20×200
2010 – Denise Wolff, Editor, Aperture
2011 – Karen Irvine, Curator, Museum of Contemporary Photography
2012 – W.M. Hunt, Collector and Curator
2013 – John A. Bennette, Collector and Curator
2014 – Whitney C. Johnson, Director of Photography, The New Yorker
2015 – Julia Dolan, Minor White Curator of Photography, Portland Art Museum


1995 – James Soe Nyun
1996 – Phil Borges
1997 – Trina Kyounghui Yi-Weston
1998 – Lisa Hohlfeld
1999 – Frank Noelker
2001 – Sarah Oehl
2002 – Nanette Vinson
2003 – (tie) Cat Gwynn & Patricia Sandler
2004 – Dennis Chamberlin
2005 – Peter de Lory
2006 – Joelle Jensen
2007 – Sung Jin Park
2008 – Sally Ketcham
2009 – James Luckett
2010 – Adam Satushek
2011 – Laura Plageman
2012 – Lauren Marsolier
2013 – Tuan Cao
2014 – Alejandra Carles-Tolra
2015 – Meike J. Paniza, Sparks

Header image, detail: Alyssa Minahan, 3rd place, Juried Exhibition 2015

Ready for more?

Explore All That PCNW Has to Offer