Steve Strom, Painted Hills II
In the gallery…


17th Annual Photo Competition Exhibition

Juror: W.M Hunt, Curator & Collector
August 3rd – September 18, 2012

Artists’ Reception & Awards: August 3rd, 8:00 – 9:45 PM
Lecture: W.M. Hunt, Friday, August 3rd, 7 PM at the Seattle Art Museum

Ajay Varma, Divergence Ajay Varma, Inception or Conclusion Andrew Fladeboe, Molly of Clashnettie Barry Greff, Niagara Mary Ellen Bartley, Scratched Print Skylight Hallway Benjamin Dimmitt, Black Mangrove Trees & Roots Mullet Key, FL Benjamin Dimmitt, Lake Russell Disney Wilderness Preserve, FL Bill Armstrong, Infinity Series1408, 3rd Place Award Charles Purvis, Ptych 10 - From Equivalents: 17th Annual Photo Competition Exhibition Charles Purvis, Ptych 11 Christa Bowden, Nest II Chris Thompson, Seven Seagulls Danielle Khoury, Clutch David Regal, Face with Red and Green Deborah Bay, Five Seven Donna J Wan, Yilan, Honorable Mention Donna J Wan, Winston, Honorable Mention Eberhard Riedel, Lost Youth - Former Child-Soldier, Northern Uganda, 2010 Edward Bateman, Spectral Device No. 8 Harry Longstreet, Stage Fright Jamil Hellu, Kissing Jane Olin, Site Unseen Jeanette May, Mouse, Honorable Mention Jeff Gebauer, The Frozen Sea, Honorable Mention Johanna Warwick, Fastness Koichi Nishiyama, Nowhere 01 Koichi Nishiyama, Nowhere 02 Kireilyn Barber, Stillness Site 07, Bath Lani Doely, Stump and Moss Larry Larsen, Just looking Lauren Marsolier, Building and Tree, 1st Place Award Lauren Marsolier, Buildings and Pines, 1st Place Award Lauren Marsolier, Playground 3, 1st Place Award Leighton McWilliams, Elvis Riviera Leighton McWilliams, Tunnel of Love Kerry Mansfield, Untitled No.0138 Manuel Cosentino, Behind a Little House, 2nd Place Award Manuel Cosentino, Behind a Little House, 2nd Place Award Manuel Cosentino, Behind a Little House, 2nd Place Award Manuel Cosentino, Behind a Little House, 2nd Place Award Manuel Cosentino, Behind a Little House, 2nd Place Award Manuel Cosentino, Behind a Little House, 2nd Place Award Mark Morgan, Each Days Odyssey Requires Hatching An Army Of Monika Merva, Doki's Hand Monika Merva, Untitled Maureen Ruddy Burkhart, OrbitalDream1 Patricia Ridenour, Where the Ocean's Meet Patricia Ridenour, Tumbling Towards Ecstacy Patricia Sandler, Dunlop Peter Miraglia, Howard Regina DeLuise, German Girl Robert Harrison, Camino Robert L Covington, Untitled Robert Moran, Pink Radio, Honorable Mention Robert Moran, Freds Bag, Honorable Mention Rober Moran, Survivor, Honorable Mention Sarah Marie Land, Lilley Sean McKeever, Extinct Steve Strom, San Rafael Swell I, UT Susan Gans, Unknown Objects Arrive, 2012 Thomas Michael Alleman, West Hollywood, 2001 William Rugen, Daffodil William Rugen, Bleeding Heart William Mitchell, Nisqually Tangle William Mitchell, Tangle #3

EQUIVALENTS: 17th Annual Photo Competition Exhibition was juried by W.M. Hunt, esteemed Curator and Collector.  This annual juried show remains amongst the most popular in Photo Center’s gallery program. This year 257 photographers from around the globe entered the competition with over 2000 images. W.M. Hunt selected 46 photographers displaying a variety of concepts and subject matter.

Artists Charles Purvis and Lauren Marsolier both explore shifts in the human notions of the real, the experience and impression of what’s unseen, implied and possible. However, Purvis does so by cutting and pasting fragments of altered photographs, while Marsolier digitally constructs environments that introduce us to a new stage of abstraction. Monika Merva’s emotional portraits navigate the melodies of commonplace and Robert Moran’s nostalgic typologies tell the stories of objects once relied upon.

Juror Bio: W.M. Hunt is a champion of photography – collector, curator and consultant who lives and works in New York. He is the author of “The Unseen Eye: Photographs from the Unconscious” published in 2011 by Aperture in the US, Thames & Hudson in the UK and as “L’Oeil Invisible” by “Actes Sud” in France. Highlights from his collection have been seen at the George Eastman House and in Europe in Arles, Lausanne, and Amsterdam.

Hunt is very supportive of emerging talent and has judged many competitions including World Press, and he has participated in most of the major portfolio reviews including PhotoLucida and Fotofest. He is on the Board of Directors of the W. Eugene Smith Memorial Fund and The Center for Photography at Woodstock, New York where he was the recipient of their Vision Award in 2009. He also served on the Board of Directors of AIPAD (Association of International Photography Art Dealers) and was the past Chairman of Photographers + Friends United Against AIDS. He is an adjunct professor at the ICP and the School of Visual Arts.

Founding partner of the prominent photography gallery Hasted Hunt (now Hasted Kraeutler) in Chelsea, Manhattan, and former director of photography at Ricco/Maresca gallery, Hunt has been collecting photography for almost 40 years and has been profiled in The New York Times, PDN, Art on Paper, Modern Painters, The Art Newspaper, PBS’ “EGG, the Arts Show”, as well as BBC’s “The Genius of Photography” and elsewhere.

Exhibiting Artists: Ajay Varma, Andrew Fladebo, Barry Greff, Mary Ellen Bartley, Benjamin Dimmitt, Bill Armstrong, Charles Purvis, Christa Bowden, Chris Thompson, Danielle Khoury, David Regal, Deborah Bay, Donna J Wan, Eberhard Riedel, Edward Bateman, Harry Longstreet, Jamil Hellu, Jane Olin, Jeanette May, Jeff Gebauer, Johanna Warwick, Koichi Nishiyama, Kireilyn Barber, Lani Doely, Larry Larsen, Lauren Marsolier, Leighton McWilliams, Kerry Mansfield, Manuel Cosentino, Mark Morgan, Monika Merva, Maureen Ruddy Burkhart, Patricia Ridenour, Patricia Sandler, Peter Miraglia, Regina DeLuise, Robert Harrison, Robert L Covington, Robert Moran, Sarah Marie Land, Sean McKeever, Stephen Strom, Susan Gans, Thomas Michael Alleman, William Rugen, William Mitchell


1st Place: Lauren Marsolier (Venice, CA)
2nd Place: Manuel Cosentino (Avellino, Italy)
3rd Place: Bill Armstrong (New York, NY)


Jeff Gebauer (San Diego, CA)
Donna J. Wan (Menlo Park, CA)
Jeanette May (Brooklyn, NY)
Robert Moran (Bar Harbor, ME)

AWARDS: First, second, and third prize winners will take home $1000, $500, and $250 as well as a $75 Blurb Inc. Scrip Certificate for each winner. Photo Center gratefully acknowledges Blurb Inc., Glazer’s Camera, and Panda Lab respectively for their award sponsorships.